Foreigners talk about Russian food

Mexican
I often go to visit friends, where I was used to drink beer with dried fish –  I never seen it before in no other country. At first i didn’t want to try out it because of the horrible sight and smell, but after i like … Knock roach on the table – this is so Russian and fun … Even i never understand what “French Meat” is. In France I have never seen meat and cheese and tomatoes. A truly Russian product – is threaded loaf. The personification of your country – white, simple, and not very fresh, but very tasty.

Argentinian
… In Argentina, we almost never have breakfast, and Russian can eat soup for breakfast. We have it considered gluttony. In turn, we are very late have dinner, and in Moscow traditionally dine at 19-20. Food here is very tasty, especially the soup and dumplings are not particularly original, but tasty. But the meat … do not compare with the Argentine.

Chilean
In Russian cuisine main meat. Russia in general, similar to a large piece of meat. “Tough weather, serious people. Siberia, the force which is necessary to survive the winter. Kebab I like it here more than anything. You have a very healthy food, the Russian people often eat vegetables, not eats in America. And always drink tea. I never saw that people were drinking so much tea. Even in the clubs at 3 am, bought some tea … the water tastes terrible.

Ecuadorian
Most of all I miss bananas. We get a lot of green, red, small, large … You have no idea how to prepare Latin American food … Your soup borcsh is like a rare gazpacho, but i like it. A caviar, which everyone praised and so expensive, it seems to me like too salty sushi. And from junk food i like “kroshka-kartoshka”. So unusual – very large potato with mushrooms, salad, meat …

Australian-British
Most of all I like your milk products. Ryazhenka, kefir, cottage cheese, yogurt – it is incredibly tasty, useful, and such does not exist anywhere in the world. Even milk soup-a very unusual meal, which is prepared only in Russia. I tried to do it at home – nothing happened. And for the first time I tried it in the “mu-mu” excellent cafe with authentic Russian food. You have no idea about healthy eating – always add sour cream, mayonnaise … I often have ravioli – delicious, but unhealthy stuff. British family can all year eat the same cereal in the morning, but you have something new every day: cottage cheese, crepes, pancakes, fried eggs, bread with butter.

French
Good cheese, meat, bread, sold in luxury stores are very expensive. But you have the most delicious fish in the world.  Soft fresh salmon i tried  in Siberia, I have never eat anywhere else. In France, many people can not afford to buy seafood, here it is inexpensively. Your food is healthier than the French – you eat lots of soups. Your “Teremok” sell very good pancakes, like in France.

German
Your milk had terrible taste. As if only out of cows and unrefined. But you have crab sticks, I’ve never tried it. My girlfriend cooked salad of crab sticks. She said this is your traditional salad – delicious. You eat the soup as a main dish, but we have it as a snack.For breakfast, we never eat hot food.  In Russia you can have a chicken for a breakfast. I want to try kvass. I was told about it. Friends tried it, but they didn’t like, is it bread with water, yes? I hope Germany will learn how to make cookies “Ubileynoe”. And your chocolate is not the chocolate. I tried several times and always wondered – how can it be without the chocolate flavor of chocolate.

Nigerian
In Moscow, was delicious vegetables, not in stores, but in the large markets in Dorogomilovoski market, for example. I go there every weekend, for food and then enjoying the week: peppers, tomatoes, beans … Your food is exactly the same as everywhere else.

Here is the post about Russian cuisine.

One response to “Foreigners talk about Russian food

  1. Pingback: About Russian Food « Mosvitality'n'fatality

Leave a comment